Nadine Barrie Smith Award

In honor of Nadine's dedication to students in therapeutic ultrasound, ISTU has established the Nadine Barrie Smith Student Award. The award recognizes exemplary student achievements at the ISTU Annual Meeting. This fund will allow continued recognition of Nadine's legacy as a mentor, and to encourage others to do the same.

Learn more about the Nadine Barrie Smith Award.

Past recipients of this award include:

  • Ching-Hsiang Fan, Taiwan (Barcelona 2019)
  • Brian Mead, University of Virginia (Utrecht 2015)
  • Andrew Wong, UC Davis (Las Vegas 2014)
  • Patrick Ye, Stanford University School of Medicine (Shanghai 2013)
  • Jonathan T. Sutton, Brigham and Women's Hospital (Heidelberg 2012)
  • Yao-Sheng Tung, Columbia University (New York 2011)

Student Prizes

ISTU is eager to encourage enthusiastic and able young scientists and clinicians to get involved with the Society from the early stages of their career and to take part in the Society's annual symposium. A number of student prizes are awarded at each annual meeting to recognize students who exhibit strong potential to impact the world of therapeutic ultrasound. Prizes are awarded for Best Oral and Best Poster presentations.

Student Travel Stipend

Student travel stipends for the annual symposium are available to qualified students. During the abstract submission, students must specify they apply to the travel stipend. Once the abstracts have been reviewed and accepted, the application process requires submitting a letter from their academic advisor to support the application and certify the student's status. The number of travel stipends and the amount of each depend on available funds and distance of travel. Stipends are for graduate students including those having completed their degree within one year of the closing of the conference.

Priority will be given to students in the following order:

  • Students giving an oral presentation (first author), with the abstract scored within top 10 student abstracts during review.
  • Students presenting a poster (first author), with the abstract scored within top 10 abstracts during review.
  • Student authors who have never been awarded a travel support for attending previous ISTU meetings giving either an oral presentation or a poster (first author).
  • Students listed on an oral presentation but not presenting.
  • Students listed on a poster but not first author.
  • Students without oral or poster presentation but with compelling motivation and support letters.

In any case, a student cannot be awarded a travel stipend for an ISTU symposium more than twice. Applications will be ranked, and travel support will be delivered until the allocated fund is fully granted. A maximum of two travel grants per institution will be given but the total amount can be split between several applicants from the same institution.