Prizes and Awards

The William and Francis Fry Honorary Fellowship for Contributions to Therapeutic Ultrasound

This lifetime achievement award is given annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to therapeutic ultrasound. Potential recipients of this award are nominated by the Organizing Committee of each annual ISTU symposium and ratified by the Board.

Past recipients of the Society's most prestigious award include:

  • Professor Albert Gelet (Lyon 2023)
  • Professor Natalia I. Vykhodtseva, Ph.D. (Toronto 2022)
  • Professor Jin Woo Chang (Korea 2021)
  • Professor Chrit Moonen (Barcelona 2019)
  • Professor Naren Sanghvi (Nashville 2018)
  • Professor Katsuro Tachibana (Nanjing 2017)
  • Professor Wladyslaw Gedroyc (Tel Aviv 2016)
  • Professor Jean-Yves Chapelon (Utrecht 2015)
  • Professor Larry Crum (Las Vegas 2014)
  • Professor Feng Wu (Shanghai 2013)
  • Professor Gail ter Haar (Heidelberg 2012)
  • Professor Kullervo Hynynen (New York 2011)
  • Professor Shin-ichiro Umemura (Tokyo 2010)
  • Professor Dominique Cathignol (Aix-en-Provence 2009)
  • Professor Floyd Dunn (Minneapolis 2008)
  • Professor Peter Wells (Oxford 2006)
  • Professor Wes Nyborg (Boston 2005)
  • Professor Kit Hill (Lyon 2003)

The Frederic Lizzi Early Career Award

The Frederic Lizzi Early Career Award was established in 2008 to honor Dr. Frederic L. Lizzi, a pioneer in advanced diagnostic and therapeutic applications of ultrasound.

Past recipients of the Frederic Lizzi Early Career Award include:

  • Ching-Hsiang Fan, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan (Lyon 2023)
  • James Kwan, University of Oxford Tutorial Fellow at Balliol College (Lyon 2023)
  • Kenneth Bryan Bader, Ph.D., University of Chicago (Toronto 2022)
  • James J Choi, Ph.D. Imperial College London (Toronto 2022)
  • Mario L. Fabiilli, Ph.D., University of Michigan (Korea 2021)
  • Adam Maxwell, University of Washington (Korea 2021)
  • Hong Chen, Ph.D., Washington University in St. Louis (2020)
  • Meaghan O'Reilly, Ph.D., Sunnybrook Research Institute (2020)
  • Kevin J. Haworth, Ph.D., University of Cincinnati (Barcelona 2019)
  • W. Apoutou N'Djin, Ph.D., LabTAU, INSERM U1032, Lyon (Barcelona 2019)
  • Tatiana Khokhlova, University of Washington (Nashville 2018)
  • Charles Caskey, Vanderbilt University (Nashville 2018)
  • Alfred Yu (Nanjing 2017)
  • Juan Tu, Nanjing University (Tel Aviv 2016)
  • Zhen Xu, University of Michigan (Utrecht 2015)
  • Joo Ha Hwang, MD, PhD, University of Washington (Las Vegas 2014)
  • Hao-Li Liu, Chang Gung University (Shanghai 2013)
  • Constantin-C. Coussios, Institute of Biomedical Engineering, Oxford (Heidelberg 2012)
  • Nathan McDannold, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard (Heidelberg 2012)
  • Jean-François Aubry, Institut Langevin, Paris (New York 2011)
  • Cyril Lafon, INSERM, France (Tokyo 2010)
  • Elisa Konofagou, Columbia University (Aix-en-Provence 2009)
  • Mickael Tanter, Institut Langevin - Laboratoire Ondes et Acoustique, Paris (Aix-en-Provence 2009)
  • Mike Bailey, University of Washington (Minneapolis 2008)

The President's Award

The President's Award was established in 2020 as a unique opportunity for the ISTU Board to recommend a community member to be honored by the current President.  The award honors exceptional and significant contributions to the field of therapeutic ultrasound. This award is not granted annually, but bestowed at the ISTU Board's discretion.

The inaugural award will be presented posthumously to Dr. Charles Cain at the Focused Ultrasound Foundation Symposium in November 2020.

In honor of Nadine's dedication to students in therapeutic ultrasound, ISTU has established the Nadine Barrie Smith Student Award. The award recognizes exemplary student achievements at the ISTU Annual Meeting. This fund will allow continued recognition of Nadine's legacy as a mentor, and to encourage others to do the same.

Learn more about the Nadine Barrie Smith Award.

Past recipients of this award include:

  • Benjamin Robert Kop, MRes, Donders Institute for Brain, Cognition, and Behaviour (Lyon 2023)
  • Abdullah Farooq, California Institute of Technology (Toronto 2022)
  • Yaoheng Yang, Washington University in St. Louis (Korea 2021)
  • Ching-Hsiang Fan, Taiwan (Barcelona 2019)
  • Brian Mead, University of Virginia (Utrecht 2015)
  • Andrew Wong, UC Davis (Las Vegas 2014)
  • Patrick Ye, Stanford University School of Medicine (Shanghai 2013)
  • Jonathan T. Sutton, Brigham and Women's Hospital (Heidelberg 2012)
  • Yao-Sheng Tung, Columbia University (New York 2011)

Student Prizes

ISTU is eager to encourage enthusiastic and able young scientists and clinicians to get involved with the Society from the early stages of their career and to take part in the Society's annual symposium. A number of student prizes are awarded at each annual meeting to recognize students who exhibit strong potential to impact the world of therapeutic ultrasound. Prizes are awarded for Best Oral and Best Poster presentations.

Student Registration Awards

Student Registration Awards for the annual symposium are available to qualified students. During the abstract submission, students must specify they apply to the Student Registration Award. Once the abstracts have been reviewed and accepted, the application process requires submitting a letter from their academic advisor to support the application and certify the student's status. The number of awards and the amount of each depend on available funds. Stipends are for graduate students including those having completed their degree within one year of the closing of the conference.