Local Organizing Committee Members

The 2024 Annual Symposium is proudly hosted by:


Wen-Shiang Chen, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, National Taiwan University College of Medicine
Attending Physician, Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, National Taiwan University Hospital
President, Taiwan Association of Interventional and Therapeutic Ultrasound (TAITU)
President Elect, Asia Oceania Society of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine (AOSPRM)
Dr. Wen-Shiang Chen received the MD degree from the Department of Medicine, National Taiwan University (NTU) in 1991. In 1993, he entered the Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation (PM&R), National Taiwan University Hospital (NTUH) as a resident and completed his training in 1997. At the same year, he went to the University of Washington in Seattle to study the Bioengineering Ph.D. program. After obtaining his degree in 2002, he went to Duke University, Institute of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Sciences as a postdoctoral researcher. In 2003, he returned to the PM&R department, NTUH as an attending physician. Now, he is a professor of PM&R, NTU and also joint-appointed by National Institutes of Health, Mechanical Engineering (NTU), and Medical Devices and Medical Imaging Institute (NTU). He is currently the president of the Taiwan Association of Interventional and Therapeutic Ultrasound (TAITU), a sister association of JSTU and KSTU, as well as the President Elect of Asia Pacific Association for Rehabilitation Medicine. His research expertise is therapeutic ultrasound for brain stimulation, and clinical ultrasound dedicated to musculoskeletal system.


Ming-Yen Hsiao, M.D., Ph.D., CIPS
Assistant Professor, National Taiwan University College of Medicine
Attending Physician, Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, National Taiwan University Hospital
Dr. Ming-Yen Hsiao is a clinician-scientist specializing in neuromodulation and musculoskeletal ultrasound. His recent research focuses on non-invasive brain stimulation, including focused ultrasound-mediated neuromodulation, and shockwave-mediated blood-brain barrier opening for drug delivery. With over 90 academic articles and 10 co-authored textbooks in musculoskeletal ultrasound, dysphagia, and PM&R, Dr. Hsiao is also a certified interventional pain sonologist expert in ultrasound-guided interventions for neuromusculoskeletal disorders. He has shared his expertise through 50+ international and domestic lectures and hands-on workshops in musculoskeletal ultrasound.

Scientific Committee Co-Chairs

Hao-Li Liu, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering
National Taiwan University
Dr. Hao-Li Liu received the Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering, National Taiwan University, Taiwan in 2003, and finished his post-doc training in Brigham & Womens Hospital, Harvard Medical School, with Dr. Kullervo Hynynen in 2005. He is currently the Professor of Department of Electrical Engineering, National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan. Dr. Liu is currently working on research topic in ultrasound non-thermal therapy and its treatment planning/ simulation including blood-brain barrier opening, focused ultrasound neuromodulation, and ultrasound phased array design. Dr. Liu has published over 140 SCI ultrasound-related papers, over 40 worldwide patents been filed in areas of biomedical use of therapeutic ultrasound. He received the 2015 Frederic Lizzi Award from the International Society for Therapeutic Ultrasound (ISTU) for recognizing his contribution in preclinical advances of brain therapy application. He previously also joined as the board member of ISTU (term 2015-2018). He is currently joining the NaviFUS Inc. (dedicated to promote a clinical purposed neuronavigation-guided transcranial focused ultrasound device) as technical consultant to support the ongoing BBB-opening and epilepsy clinical trials conducted in Taiwan.
Zhen Xu
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
University of Michigan
Zhen Xu is a Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Michigan. Her research focuses on ultrasound therapy, and she is a pioneer in developing histotripsy. She received the IEEE UFFC Outstanding Paper Award in 2006, The Federic Lizzi Early Career Award from The International Society of Therapeutic Ultrasound in 2015, the Fellow of American Institute of Medicine and Bioengineering in 2019, and The Lockhart Memorial Prize for Cancer Research in 2020. She is an associate editor for IEEE Transactions on UFFC and Frontiers in Bioengineering and Biotechnology, VP of IEEE Ultrasonics, and served as an elected board member of ISTU.

Scientific Committee Members

  • Vera Khokhlova (USA), University of Washington
  • David Melodelima (FRANCE), INSERM
  • Meaghan O'Reilly (CANADA), Sunnybrook Research Institute
  • Dong-Guk Paeng (Korea), Jeju University
  • Juan Tu (CN), Nanjing University
  • Chih-Kuang Yeh (TW), National Tsing Hua University