Prizes and Awards

Nadine Barrie Smith Student Award

In honor of Nadine’s dedication to students in therapeutic ultrasound, ISTU has established the Nadine Barrie Smith Student Award. The award recognizes exemplary student achievements at the ISTU Annual Meeting. This fund will allow continued recognition of Nadine’s legacy as a mentor, and to encourage others to do the same.

Learn more about the Nadine Barrie Smith Award.

Past recipients of this award include:

  • Brian Mead, University of Virginia (awarded in Utrecht in 2015)
  • Andrew Wong, UC Davis (awarded in Las Vegas in 2014)
  • Patrick Ye, Stanford University School of Medicine (awarded in Shanghai is 2013)
  • Jonathan T. Sutton, Brigham and Women’s Hospital (awarded in Heidelberg in 2012)
  • Yao-Sheng Tung, Columbia University (awarded in New York City in 2011)

The William and Francis Fry Honorary Fellowship for Contributions to Therapeutic Ultrasound

This lifetime achievement award is given annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to therapeutic ultrasound. Potential recipients of this award are nominated by the Organizing Committee of each annual ISTU symposium and ratified by the Board.

Past recipients of the Society’s most prestigious award include:

  • Chrit Moonen, Ph.D. (awarded in Barcelona, 2019)
  • Naren Sanghvi (awarded in Nashville, 2018)
  • Professor Katsuro Tachibana (awarded in Nanjing, 2017)
  • Professor Wladyslaw Gedroyc (awarded in Tel Aviv, 2016)
  • Professor Jean-Yves Chapelon (awarded in Utrecht, 2015)
  • Professor Larry Crum (awarded in Las Vegas, 2014)
  • Professor Feng Wu (awarded in Shanghai, 2013)
  • Professor Gail ter Haar (awarded in Heidelberg in 2012)
  • Professor Kullervo Hynynen (awarded in New York City in 2011)
  • Professor Shin-ichiro Umemura (awarded in Tokyo in 2010)
  • Professor Dominique Cathignol (awarded in Aix-en-Provence in 2009)
  • Professor Floyd Dunn (awarded in Minneapolis in 2008)
  • Professor Peter Wells (awarded in Oxford in 2006)
  • Professor Wes Nyborg (awarded in Boston in 2005)
  • Professor Kit Hill (awarded in Lyon in 2003)

The Frederic Lizzi Early Career Award

The Frederic Lizzi Early Career Award was established in 2008 to honor Dr. Frederic L. Lizzi, a pioneer in advanced diagnostic and therapeutic applications of ultrasound.

Past recipients of the Frederic Lizzi Early Career Award include:

  • Dr. Kevin J. Haworth, Ph.D., University of Cincinnati (awarded in Barcelona 2019)
  • Dr. W. Apoutou N’Djin, Ph.D., LabTAU, INSERM U1032, Lyon (awarded in Barcelona 2019)
  • Dr. Tatiana Khokhlova, University of Washington (awarded in Nashville, 2018)
  • Dr. Charles Caskey, Vanderbilt University (awarded in Nashville, 2018)
  • Dr. Alfred Yu (awarded in Nanjing, 2017)
  • Dr. Juan Tu, Nanjing University (awarded in Tel Aviv, 2016)
  • Dr. Zhen Xu, University of Michigan (awarded in Utrecht, 2015)
  • Dr. Joo Ha Hwang, MD, PhD, University of Washington (awarded in Las Vegas in 2014)
  • Dr. Hao-Li Liu, Chang Gung University (awarded in Shanghai, 2013)
  • Dr. Constantin-C. Coussios, Institute of Biomedical Engineering, Oxford (awarded in Heidelberg 2012)
  • Dr. Nathan McDannold, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard (awarded in Heidelberg 2012)
  • Dr .Jean-Francois Aubry, Institut Langevin, Paris (awarded in New York City in 2011)
  • Dr. Cyril Lafon, INSERM, France (awarded in Tokyo in 2010)
  • Dr. Elisa Konofagou, Columbia University (awarded in Aix-en-Provence in 2009)
  • Dr. Mickael Tanter, Institut Langevin – Laboratoire Ondes et Acoustique, Paris (awarded in Aix-en-Provence in 2009)
  • Dr. Mike Bailey, University of Washington (awarded in Minneapolis in 2008)

Student Prizes

ISTU is eager to encourage enthusiastic and able young scientists and clinicians to get involved with the Society from the early stages of their career and to take part in the Society’s annual symposium. A number of student prizes are awarded at each annual meeting to recognize students who exhibit strong potential to impact the world of therapeutic ultrasound.

Student Travel Awards

Student travel awards for the annual symposium are available to qualified students. During the abstract submission, students must specify they apply for the travel award. Once the abstracts have been reviewed and accepted, the application process requires submitting a letter from their academic advisor to support the application and certify the student’s status. The number of travel awards and the amount of each depend on available funds and distance of travel. Stipends are for graduate students including those having completed their degree within one year of the closing of the conference.

Priority will be given to students in the following order:

  • Students giving an oral presentation (first author), with the abstract scored within top 10 student abstracts during review.
  • Students presenting a poster (first author), with the abstract scored within top 10 abstracts during review.
  • Student authors who have never been awarded a travel support for attending previous ISTU meetings giving either an oral presentation or a poster (first author).
  • Students listed on an oral presentation but not presenting.
  • Students listed on a poster but not first author.
  • Students without oral or poster presentation but with compelling motivation and support letters.

In any case, a student cannot be awarded a travel stipend for an ISTU symposium more than twice. Applications will be ranked, and travel support will be delivered until the allocated fund is fully granted. A maximum of two travel grants per institution will be given but the total amount can be split between several applicants from the same institution.

The travel stipend amount will be applied to the student’s symposium registration fees.